top of page

Hey and welcome to The New Conquista!

My name is Nancy Ruby Plascencia and I am in my 3rd year of university. I started this blog because of it very much near and dear to my heart. I am the third daughter of two beautiful Mexican parents. As much as this is an “About Me” introduction my story technically begins far before I was born.

In 1982 my brave father packed his things and crossed the border setting foot on the enemy's territory. After finally getting a grasp of his new home in 1984 he was caught and sent back to Mexico in August, three days after being in Mexico he attempted to re-enter and was sent back. However, his failed attempted didn't stop him there, three months later that same year he was once again in the United States.

In 1986 president Ronald Reagan passed an amnesty known as, “The Immigration Reform and Control Act” this supplied papers to many illegal immigrants 2.7 million to be exact and of those 2.7 million my father was one of them. After not being home for a couple of years my father was able to once again visit and in one of those visits fell in love with my mother, got married and had two daughters where their relationship endured a border between them since my father had to go back and forth between Mexico and the U.S in order to work and provide for his family. In 1997 my father was able to fix documents for my mother and two sisters where they were reunited in Milwaukee. Two years later on the 8th of April, 1999 I was born and two years after that my younger sister was born making us both U.S. citizens.

I tell you this story because I am a part of the Latinx community. In this blog, I hope to show the rise of the Latinx community in things such as Netflix shows, books, music, celebrities, and politics. I will also touch on some serious topics like immigration and ICE along with the difficulties of balancing a multicultural lifestyle. Our Spanish speaking countries were once ruled by others but here is to “The New Conquista” of the Latinx community.


45 views1 comment
bottom of page